Another Run on the Treadmill

7/25/11 – 5 MILES

With a projected high temp of 105 today, and an overnight low of 84, I just couldn’t muster the energy to get up early and run outside in the early morning heat.  Decided to go to the gym and get in a run on the treadmill.  I resolved to make the best of it and not focus so much on how miserable I was.

Easier said than done.

Actually, it was better than last week.  My iPod played decent music, I wore one contact so I could read the numbers on the dashboard, and I snagged a treadmill closest to the window.  I even listened to a podcast of Eckhart Tolle and Oprah talking about chapter 5 of A New Earth.  Fittingly, the topic was not letting our minds become fixated on one thought (as in, all I want is this run to be over).

Again, easier said than done.

I used the run as an opportunity to focus on my form in the mirror, and to concentrate on my stride and my breathing.  Call it running meditation, if you will.  I had to prove to myself that I could conquer my disdain for treadmill running.  I think I was fairly successful.  At least this time.

I even did 55 stomach crunches afterwards.

Stats: 5 mi @ 9:31 pace on the treadmill; yoga – PM Yoga DVD, 20 min

Please leave a comment

