Sugar Love

I’ve been trying to eat better this summer.  As a matter of fact, I’m always trying to eat better.  I think I do fairly well, but I have one really big vice:  SUGAR.  There is nothing more glorious in the world of food than brownies or chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven.

I have a terrible sweet tooth, and it’s at it’s most extreme when I get into high mileage running while training for a marathon.  I especially crave sugary desserts the closer I get to my 20 milers.

Oh, who am I kidding?  I crave sugary desserts when I’m running 3 milers, too.

I’ve always had a sweet tooth.  When I was a kid I used to save our coke bottles (in those days they were glass and you could return them for a deposit), strap on my roller skates, and take them to the 7-11 a half mile or so from our house.  I would spend ever single cent that I got back from the deposit on candy, returning home with a bag full of Tootsie Rolls, Sugar Daddys, Jawbreakers, and anything else that caught my eye.

Sugar

I came across this video of Jack LaLanne, the Godfather of Fitness, on The Primal Blueprint, a website dedicated to eating more like our ancient ancestors.  I used to watch LaLanne every morning during summer vacations when I was a kid.  His fitness show was broadcast from 1951 to 1985, and and was the longest running television exercise program.  He passed away this January at the age of 96.

I think I can cut back on just about everything on his list, except that #11, soda pop, will be the hardest.  I only drink one, ONE!, Dr Pepper a day, but I really look forward to that can of liquid candy at lunchtime.  It’s been a week since I had my last DP, and just thinking about it makes me want one.  I’m thinking of what I can do to reward myself.

Does this mean I have to give up my 90% cocoa supreme dark chocolate, too?  This could get ugly . . .

I guess I truly am addicted.

2 comments

  1. michelle

    Oh my goodness I am a total sugar addict as well. LOVE IT. I can really tell when I’ve had too much because it impacts my running. But does that stop me? Sometimes… but not often enough

    • Run Nature

      Hmmm, I’ve never noticed too much sugar impacting my running–except for the subsequent weight gain! I notice more how long runs cause me to want to eat more sugar and carbs.

Please leave a comment

