Another Long, Hot Run

8/6/11 – 12 MILES

What can I say that I haven’t already said all summer long?  It’s hot.  Really hot.

It was very humid when we met at 6am at Fuzzy’s.  Bill had stomach issues and decided not to run, but Heather V. was there for her longest run since February and her first run with the group since her marriage.  I heard Jose also had stomach issues and Genevieve turned around somewhere after 3 miles and went home.  I had to use my inhaler before the run, as did Teel.  The point here is that the extreme heat, coupled with no wind, is creating a lot of pollution and pollen, and it’s making us all sick.

We mostly stuck to running at the lake, which was great because of the water fountains.  There was one small section when the sun came up and it was less humid, and there was a nice, cool breeze blowing off the lake.

I used the new small Nathan water bottle with a hand strap that I bought yesterday.  I debated long and hard if I wanted to run 12 miles holding water in my hand, especially when we were running at the lake where the water is plentiful, but it wasn’t too bad.  I kept the bottle mostly empty at the lake and filled it up before we ran back into the hills.  I think I’ll use if for shorter runs in the future and strap on the hated fuel belt for the longer runs.

We ran 7 mi around the lake, and the sun started to get very hot and intense.  The last 3 miles were the toughest for everyone in my group.  It was all uphill back to Fuzzy’s, and we had the pleasure of running up three of our old friends, Tokalon, Sperry, and Anita.

For some reason my heat addled brain didn’t realize when we turned onto Hillside we were only about a quarter of a mile from Fuzzy’s.  Turning the corner and seeing the finish right there, when I was expecting to have to run another three quarters of a mile, was the sweetest finish in a long time.

All in all a good run, but it was hot.  Again.

Today’s Favorite Quote:  “It’s only 12 miles.  I can do anything for 12 miles.”  – Teel, when I asked her how she could hold her huge bottle of water for 12 miles

Stats:  Run – 12 miles @ 9:39 pace – 89 degrees

2 comments

  1. Genevieve

    Today I learned that going for my allergy shot 2 days before my long run works best for me. I also learned that if you wake up when you should be leaving the house no matter how badly you want to run it’s probably better to stay home. It was a Murphy’s Law type of day for me. A failure of epic proportions.

    • Run Nature

      No, it wasn’t! You still got out there and gave it a go, and it just didn’t work out. You did the best you could under bad circumstances–and you still got in 7 miles. No shame in that, Genevieve!

Please leave a comment

