Raindrops!

8/9/11 – 6 MILES

It never ceases to amaze me how I can mismanage something as simple as an alarm clock.  I set the alarm to go off at 4AM this morning, and of course it didn’t.  I still woke up on my own, but I do this all the time.  Maybe that’s why my body has been trained not to trust the alarm.

After Sunday’s 4 miles on the treadmill at the gym I made the decision to boycott the treadmill.  The gym is depressing.  No one talks to each other, everyone’s plugged in to their music (myself included), and the whole thing seems counter to what I love most about running, which is being outdoors.  I resolved to either run outside or not at all, which essentially means I have to get up at ungodly hours to run until this heat wave passes.

Met Bryan, Bill, Stephanie, Heather W, and Shannon at the White Rock dog park.  We were the only cars there.  The temp was 86 degrees with humidity at 50%.  On the bright side, there was a nice breeze.  I wondered aloud why that wind wasn’t bringing in some rain, and everyone talked about the impenetrable high pressure ridge that is stationed over Texas.

Eventually Steph and Bryan darted ahead, and pretty much stayed there the rest of the run. We saw a few other groups pass us in the dark, and I was surprised that there were even bikers out that early.  We discussed running 5 or 6 miles and decided on 6.  My thinking was, if I’m up this early anyway might as well go whole hog and run 6.

On the way back to the car I kept feeling small drops of water on my hands.  At first I thought it might be from Shannon’s water bottle, but eventually I noticed it had turned overcast.  When I brought up the possibility that it might be–dare I even say the word–RAIN, my Doubting Thomas friends scoffed at the ridiculousness of the idea.  I think we have all forgotten what the substance is.  Sure enough, when I got in my car to leave, there were raindrops on the windshield.

There were maybe 10 total raindrops, but it was nice to know it hasn’t forgotten us here in Texas.

Stats:  6.3 miles @ 9:30 pace

 

West Texas Rainbow

Please leave a comment

