Nosedive Training: Week 11

9/10/11 – 15 MILES

My training this week took a major nosedive. The much cooler temps coincided with a horrible bout of asthma.  After my Tuesday run with Bill, which I barely stumbled through because of breathing issues, I didn’t feel well enough to run.  I kept telling myself, I’ll run tomorrow, but tomorrow’s asthma was just as bad as the day before’s.  When Friday rolled around and I only had one run under my belt for the entire week, I began to have the unsettling feeling that maybe I wouldn’t be able to pull it together for Tulsa, maybe I would have to bail.

My mileage is very low.  I’m 10 weeks out from the race.  It all depended on today’s 15 mile long run.

It was a great run.  The temperature was around 67 degrees at the start (almost 20 degrees cooler than we’ve had since May!) and it was just a good, all-around run on one of my favorite routes.  I could definitely feel the effects of taking 3 days off from running, but it wasn’t so bad.  I think I can still save my marathon, though it probably won’t be my best time by any long shot.  And you know what?  At this point, after 6 marathons, after Boston, after passing the half century mark, I really don’t care.  I don’t have anything to prove anymore, and it’s okay if I just go out and run the race, do the best I can, and cross the finish line in one piece.

I sound like a broken record, but I’m still working on running for enjoyment and not the end goal.  I miss those days of not being tied to a training plan, the days when I couldn’t wait to get home from work so I could lace up my shoes and head for the lake.  Now it seems I’m always guilt ridden because I’m not sticking to my plan, or my mileage is low, or the heat is beating me down, or whatever.  The fantastic weather we had today reminds me that this is what running is all about, this is how it should feel, to run because it feels great, because it’s a beautiful morning, because my friends are there, and because we can.  What else is there really?

Stats:  15 miles @ 9:39 pace – 67 degrees at the start

2 comments

  1. Genevieve

    Angela, it’s like you’re inside my head! I have many of the same thoughts and doubts. I had a great run today, a little slower than I liked, but it was fun and I felt good doing it.

    • Run Nature

      You have a reason to be slower today after Disney! Today’s weather made such a difference for me. I was having serious doubts all week about pulling it together for Tulsa. Today reminded me it’s not all about the next race. Hope to run more with you next week.

Please leave a comment

