Celebration Run

9/15/11 – 6 MILES

Last night we celebrated running through–and surviving–the official Hottest Summer on Record. Everyone met at Fuzzy’s and the weather gods smiled down upon us, giving us cooler temps and a nice breeze at the start.  We ran 6 miles total, including the last two being 90% uphill on Meadowlake and our old friend Sperry.

A small cool front blew in and the humidity was down in the teens. It was still 92 degrees at the start, but the low humidity made it feel surprisingly pleasant.  Michael brought the dogs and they were extremely excited to run, especially Nevada, who can’t stand it when she’s not right at the front of the pack.  She pretty much pulled the entire way, and Michael turned around at mile 2 and came back on his own while Genevieve and I continued on.  Once again I was surprised at how early it got dark, and we ran those last 2 hilly miles in the dark.  We both decided that Sperry should always be run in the dark.

We had a few new people running with us, including Kristin, who decided to turn around at the 3 mile mark and do an out and back in case she got too far behind on an unfamiliar route.  By the time we got back to Fuzzy’s it was pitch dark, and when Kristin still hadn’t shown up after 15 minutes or so, I decided to jump in the car and see if I could find her.  After my experience of missing Michael at the lake a few weeks ago, I knew how scary it could be to run alone in the dark.  Plus, I felt really bad because it was her first time running with us and there was no one running at her pace to keep her company.  In the end, she made it back on her own, safe and sound.

Everyone bought drinks to celebrate the end of the extreme temperatures (hopefully), and Genevieve got a huge, pink, frozen margarita.  Chris and I reminisced about the infamous 17 miler, aka The Worst Training Run Ever, and talked about our future running plans.  I told him I wanted to take a break from running marathons, then proceeded to list all the marathons I still wanted to run.  He said he wants to concentrate on speed and run some really fast 5K’s and 10K’s, something that doesn’t interest me at all.  Maybe I’ll run some half marathons in the spring.  Maybe I’ll try some trails.  Maybe I’ll just run.

In the meantime, there’s still a marathon to train for . . .

Stats:  6 miles @ 9:39 pace – 92 degrees at the start, with hills

Please leave a comment

