Everyone Needs a Good, Fast Run Sometimes

I hate speedwork. Other than running on a treadmill, doing repeats around a track just doesn’t do it for me. I do, however, love a good tempo run.

Tonight’s run was exactly what I needed. I had wanted to run first thing this morning, but was surprised to wake up to rain. I usually love running in a light rain, but not when temps are only in the 40’s.

(source)

The day warmed up nicely, to the low 70’s, but by the early evening the temperature unexpectedly dropped 15 degrees into the mid 50’s.

Perfect conditions for a run.

My legs took advantage of the perfect conditions, and my easy run turned into a tempo run. It was one of those runs where everything felt great: cool temps, energy level, legs, and mind.

The last mile I was pulling off 8:30’s and 8:24’s, which is rare for this middle aged body. It felt so effortless, so free, that I felt like I was flying that last mile.

Tonight’s great tempo run reminds me of why I love running, and what keeps me running.

It isn’t about the speed, or the pace. It’s about the way a really good run can make you feel exhilarated and invincible. Every cell, every muscle, every tendon feels alive. I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced a true “runner’s high,” but tonight was pretty close.

It was a really great run.

One comment

Please leave a comment

