I’m Running With Dean Karnazes!

Tomorrow my running group is running with Dean Karnazes. He’s in town for a local run and interview, and wanted to run with a local grassroots running organization. The group I run with, The White Rock Running Co-Op, is going to run six miles with him tomorrow on the Katy Trail, an old railroad line that’s been converted into a running/walking/biking path.

Karnazes was probably my first running hero. I remember coming across his first book, Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner, after I had been running for about a year or so. I hadn’t even run my first half marathon at that time, and couldn’t believe there were people who ran the incredible distances he ran.

I’ve learned a lot since then.

Not only has he run the infamous Badwater Ultra in Death Valley, and Western States, but several years ago he ran 50 marathons, in 50 states, in 50 days–and wrote a book about it.

I haven’t run an ultramarathon, but I do have six marathons under my belt. Even though a month long illness derailed my plans for marathon #7, I’m looking forward to running the half marathon in Eugene next weekend.

Being able to run tomorrow with my first running hero is going to be one of those milestones in my life I’ll never forget. I’ll keep you posted!

3 comments

  1. MikeW

    Almost a year ago you were running with DK. Wow. Hope you are finding countless blessings this year! Lots of miles since then. And kilometers too!

Please leave a comment

