Walking When It Hurts Too Much To Run

My friend Liz can’t run because of a sore ankle. It’s been sore for weeks. She even ran a marathon on her bum leg, after getting it checked out by a doctor to make sure it wasn’t a stress fracture.

Now she’s walking. Like most of my running friends, Liz is stubborn. She texted the other day that she had been walking to stay in shape, and that she had just walked seven miles. Seven miles! Like most of my running friends, she’s also an overachiever.

I asked if I could keep her company on one of her long walks at the lake. Even with an injury, I was pretty sure Liz would walk me into the ground.

I wasn’t wrong. The past two days have been extremely windy, and this morning it was overcast and humid. Despite the wind and humidity, she never let up. I secretly struggled to keep the pace.

I was so glad I was walking and not running. Running into a strong head wind is not one of my favorite things.

I love to walk. If I lived in the mountains or someplace more scenic than Dallas (and it doesn’t take much to be more scenic than Dallas), I might not even run anymore. I would take off into the hills and hike to my heart’s content.

This is a lie, of course. I’m pretty sure I’d still run, even if it meant switching to hilly trails.

Where I want to run

Where I really run

In the meantime, we have White Rock Lake. Even though I’ve been partying and playing hookey (high school), driving, walking, and running around this same lake since I was a kid, it’s still one of the best parts of Dallas. Though we curse the monotony of the nine mile, flat, paved path that encircles it, it’s been a huge part of our training.

As runners, we tend to look down on walking and forget that it’s great cross training. We hate having to walk during a run or race. For many of us it’s a sign of weakness. But it has its place, and being injured or walking after a challenging run the day before, it can be a nice change from running.

Especially if you walk with Liz.

6 comments

  1. runwritelivelife

    Love the pics, and I agree! I happen to be in Dallas too, and White Rock Lake is home base for running. Although I’m grateful to have a lake, it leaves a lot to be desired in terms of natural beauty 🙂

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Oh, wow, we probably pass each other all the time at the lake. We may even know each other!

      Even though Dallas is lacking in natural beauty, we really are lucky to have White Rock. It’s an oasis in the middle of this huge city, and I’ve had many great runs there.

      • Mind Margins/Run Nature

        It’s a myth! There are some fast runners, but not all of us are. I’m always waaaaaay in the back, and a lot of times the last one to crawl back to the finish. Come run with us some Wednesday night and bring a friend just in case no one’s running your pace. I used to pace for DRC and have been meaning to run with them again sometime. I’m sure we have mutual friends.

Please leave a comment

