A Hot, Concrete Trail Run

My Summer Survival Action Plan is in full swing. With temperatures already in the mid 90’s, and high humidity, it’s time to hit the road running. Literally.

Saturday’s group run took us on the northern section of the White Rock Creek Trail. The entire length of the trail is approximately seven miles, and we’ve run the southern section quite a few times in the past few years. This was the first time most of us had run the northern part.

It was very humid, but the cloud cover kept the temperatures nice and low. The 6:30am start also helped. Soon, the intense heat will force us to start even earlier.

Most of us are between races and are taking it easy with shorter mileage until we start training for our fall races. My training officially begins this week. Yikes!

The northern part of the trail was a nice change. I enjoyed running on a path where I never had to worry about cars. It was also nice to see flowing water in the creek, a result of rain earlier in the week. It will be dry as a bone in a few weeks.

(source)

Some sections were shady, some not so much, and except for some cyclists and a few runners not part of our group, we had the trail almost all to ourselves.

I’ve known people who’ve seen bobcats on this section of the trail, but all we saw were bunnies. (I have yet to see a bobcat anywhere in Dallas, or even in the wild. Once our campground in Canyonlands NP in Utah was abuzz with numerous bobcat sightings, but we never saw it. Several friends have seen them at White Rock Lake.)

The nicest thing about Saturday’s run was running with old friends who have since moved on to triathlons and other running groups. One of these friends was Kurt, a runner young enough to be my son who calls me “Running Mom.” He had just moved to Dallas when the group I was pacing met him at White Rock Lake one Saturday morning about four years ago. He had stopped at a water fountain and asked if he could tag along with us on the rest of our run. He ran about six more miles with us to the finish, huffing and puffing, impressing all of us since he had just recently taken up running.

He does anything but huff and puff these days. He’s a lean, mean athletic machine–and a great conversationalist on a run.

And that’s what it’s really all about, isn’t it? Running, talking, laughing, and being there for each other. I love that I can run with people twenty years younger than myself and it makes no difference. Out on the trail we’re all just runners, enjoying the experience–together.

8 comments

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      I am not at all a morning person, but I always look forward to my early Saturday morning long run with the group. The longer I run, the less I care less about how fast I am and more about the company I keep on the road. Running’s taught me a lot about friendship.

  1. Kurt

    It was great to talk with you Angela! I’m looking forward to more runs with you guys this summer and fall. I know what you mean about friendship…I’ve had great “training” that has left me feeling empty, and I’ve had simple miles running and biking that have left me feeling content and happy because of the people I was with.

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Bill, this has potential. Let’s discuss further at our next run exactly how one becomes a “Running Bobcat.” Maybe I could tie this into my trail running. This sounds like a t-shirt in the making!

Please leave a comment

