I Forgot About Those Other Muscles: First Core Workout in a Really, Really Long Time

They are buried somewhere very deeply in places I don’t think about when I run. Stomach. Arms. Butt. Shoulders.

My first core workout in years was painful. I do a lot of yoga, but this was a completely different ballgame. Heather from our running group came up with a 6:30 AM plan of torture:

Those poor, unused muscles involved in core work: they screamed out their presence very heartily during the workout. I felt invisible red arrows all around me, pointing directly at my butt, back, hips, and abs. Look, everyone! This is what happens when your forget about us!

I’ve always had puny arms, and managed maybe four push ups (honest). I was the original 90 Pound Weakling when I was in grade school, and failed miserably every year when we had to do the President’s Fitness Challenge. Remember the wooden rack of rungs against the gym wall where we had to do pull ups? My entire body would shake uncontrollably like a leaf in the wind every time I tried to pull myself up. You can imagine how the other kids reacted.

The core workout brought back memories of those dark days in the school gym. I was anything but athletic back then–but I could chase down any boy in the class (which is a great skill to have when you’re ten).

Speaking of speed, not only did we do core work, we also did speed work on the track. Ugh.

I like to run fast, but there is nothing fun about speed work. Other than the fact that it’s hard work, running around a track is just plain boring. I’d much rather run hills.

I only did two laps at 5K pace, and somehow Bill and I managed to run a 7:57 and a 7:56 average. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in the 7’s.

When we were done, Theresa took a photo of the board listing our workout so she could show her husband. She said he wouldn’t believe her otherwise. Leslie cursed the 10 lb dumbbells she had brought, promising to leave them at home next time. I couldn’t talk Bill into doing just one more mile with me afterwards.

Leslie posted later that evening that DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness), which usually happens the second day after a hard workout, had already set in. Misery loves company, and everyone agreed.

Even though the next morning (okay, the next few days) were rough, it was all good stuff. I won’t be forgetting those other muscles again anytime soon.

3 comments

  1. iRuniBreathe

    This sounds like a great workout and total fun. It feels like you’ve been punched in the gut, but at least you know you have those core muscles. Congrats on the quick laps at 5K pace too. It’s always great to hear about other people’s hard workouts and their success in completion.
    A great remedy for DOMS is to go for a walk. Foam rolling helps too, but a really light and easy activity to just get blood flow will do wonders. Remember that the 2nd day is usually the worst.

Please leave a comment

