50K Training, Week 1

Our first official week of  ultra training is behind us. We’re off to a great start. I managed to run every single mile on the training plan, running 32 miles for the week, added two core/strength workouts to the plan, a little speedwork and some hills, and did five yoga sessions totaling two hours and twenty minutes.

I haven’t run 32 miles since last September 2011, so I’m pretty proud of myself. Most satisfying is that my legs feel great despite the mileage. I attribute this to yoga. After a hard run, or a lot of miles, 20-40 minutes of easy yoga does wonders.

My current favorite yoga DVD is A.M. Yoga for Your Week with Rodney Yee. It has five 20 minute sessions, each targeting a different area.

For post-run stretching, my favorite is the Forward Bends. It’s great for stretching the hamstrings, calves, and hips. The  Hip Openers segment is also great for runners.

I can’t say enough great things about doing yoga, especially for runners.

The toughest run by far this week was Sunday’s 12 miler. Our plan calls for back-to-back runs on Saturday/Sunday, something I’m not used to doing.

Saturday’s 6 miler at 6:30am was very humid and warm, and everyone in the group struggled. My six miles felt like 20.

On Sunday we started at 6am, and the temperature was already 74 degrees with 88% humidity. It was 81 degrees when we finished.

The heat is one thing, but high humidity is the worst.

We took walk breaks, and at the halfway point stopped off at a grocery store to fill up our water bottles with ice-cold water. Even though we weren’t running on a dirt trail, we worked on slowing down and taking breaks when needed.

Nothing beats seeing the sun come up on a long run.

We sweated buckets. And because Hari was in charge of the route, there was a hill at the end.

It was all worth it, though, because I got to run with two amazing runners. And best of all, Hari’s wife, Nirisha, had breakfast waiting for us when we were done.

I’m excited to hit the trails soon!

Here are the stats for the week:

MON: Yoga – 20:00
TUE: Run – 4 mi/incl speedwork + core/strength workout
WED: Run – 6 mi easy, Yoga – 40:00
THU: Run – 4 mi/hills, Yoga – 20:00
FRI: Core/strength workout, Yoga – 20:00
SAT: Run – 6 mi (9:22), Yoga – 20:00
SUN: Run – 12 mi, Yoga – 40:00

4 comments

  1. iRuniBreathe

    Nicely done! I think consistency and avoiding injuries are probably pretty important for this. Sounds like you’ve got the mental mindset and great people to run with. Also useful! 😉

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Thanks! Staying injury-free is my number one objective, especially with the higher mileage. I’m determined to stay mentally positive this summer. I think it’s going to be another scorcher.

  2. coachdougbowers

    Injury free. I should have thought of this years ago! Back when I was a daredevil maniac with no holds barred. Now at 54 I’m paying the price. I’ve just started yoga to help my battered body through my training.
    Sounds like you are well underway. Well done.
    Looking forward to the progress reports.
    doug

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Thanks so much! I didn’t start running until I was 45, so hopefully I’m not as beat up as those of you who’ve been running longer. I always wished I’d run track in high school, but . . . maybe not! I think you’ll find that yoga helps you tremendously with your running and recovery. Thanks for reading, Coach!

Please leave a comment

