It’s Only Week 2, But This Training Feels Different

So I’m training for my first 50K and I’m excited. The adrenaline is overflowing and I actually look forward to getting up at 5AM these days and putting in ridiculously high mileage.

What’s up with that?

I also know it’s only the beginning of summer. The thermometer hasn’t even hit 100 yet. And every run so far has been like running in a steam bath. Every time I open the door I hit The Wall of Humidity.

But, somehow, it still feels different.

Maybe it was time for a change, a new goal.

One of the biggest changes I’ve made in this training cycle is to run five days a week, as opposed to only four (or even three) like I’ve done in the past. Consistency has been a problem, and led to some minor injuries.

The only other time I ran five days a week was when I trained for Boston two years ago. I was in the best shape of my life because of it, and because I ran consistently.

My weekly mileage for this training cycle will be higher than I’m used to, which means I’ll have to listen carefully to my body, eat well, and get enough sleep. My number one goal is to not get injured.

I’m incorporating yoga and strength training, neither of which I’ve done in the six and a half years that I’ve been running. I’ve been doing yoga almost daily since last November and I can tell the difference in my running. I have a lot less soreness in my legs, and I generally feel more supple and relaxed.

I also decided I have to get up early to run to beat the heat. This is major for me. I’ve never been a morning person, and for me to get up at 5am multiple times during the week can only be accomplished if I know I have someone waiting on me.

Therefore, I make sure I don’t run alone. The group core/speed workout on Tuesdays has been a great incentive, and Bill has been joining me for my Thursday morning hill runs when he can. This week I ran the hilly path alone, and still managed to get up early (albeit 30 min later than usual).

The thing that helps me the most, other than running with someone, is having a training plan. I’ve always made one in the past, but never followed it as consistently as I’m planning on following this one. I usually find one online or in one of my running books, tweak it, and make an excel chart. I color code it, too, to hold myself accountable. Green if I ran the miles, yellow if I ran less, red if I missed the run altogether.

I want to see all green on my chart.

Even though summer heat is my arch nemesis, I’m determined to keep a positive attitude about it. Nothing I do is going to change the fact that it’s hot, so it’s stupid to fight it. Last summer wore me down, and hopefully it won’t be as rough this summer.

I’m hoping my training continues going so well over the next 18 weeks. It’s a lot more fun than being mopey.

4 comments

  1. runwritelivelife

    Going in the right mindset is the best way to start off, in my opinion. And all your positive energy can’t be beat. I’m not an early morning person either….so if you can or are able to run, that’s amazing! Here’s to a great running season (and a milder summer)!

  2. SeniorRunner

    I realize the folly of comparing the Iowa heat & humidity to what you routinely encounter in Texas, but it’s still essential for me to do the long stuff at the dawn’s early light. Happily, my 10 miler today was in the books before 8:00am.

    However, try as I might, I still haven’t been able to adjust my evening schedule. The 4:30 alarm seemingly rings right after my midnight bedtime!

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      I’m having the exact same problem. I’m getting up just before 5am for all but one run, but I can’t seem to get to bed before 11pm or later. Unfortunately, I’m not much of a napper either, so I start to drag around 3 or 4pm. Good job on that 10 miler!

Please leave a comment

