50K Training, Week 4

What a difference a little sleep can make. I made sure I got enough sleep and rest this week and could really feel the difference.  I felt stronger, especially on the hills, and had more stamina on the two longer weekend runs.

I was apprehensive about running 14 miles on the trail this week, which is double my longest trail distance, but all the work I’ve put in these past four weeks paid off and I had a great run.

My training plan spreadsheet is all green so far, meaning I haven’t missed a single run on the plan. Consistency is what it’s all about, and I’m starting to see the rewards of all the hard work I’ve put in.

Now if I could only stop falling on those trail runs . . .

Danger Risk of Falling

MON: Weights – upper body – 20:00 – Feeling antsy on my rest day seems to be developing into a pattern. I decided to lift some weights and work on my upper body using the Kathy Smith DVD I’ve had for the past 14 years. It was still hard! So glad I’m not running today because it’s supposed to be 106 degrees.

TUE: Run – 4 mi, core/strength workout, yoga – 40:00 – Decided to run a tempo pace on the track rather than 5K pace to try to avoid getting injured. 84 degrees at 5:30am and no breeze. Summer is here!

WED: Run – 6 mi easy, yoga – 20:00 – Started the morning with some yoga (back bends) and finished the evening with a 6 mile run with the group in Richardson. 98 degrees when we started at 7:00pm, but everyone agreed it was somewhat pleasant since the humidity was low. Legs felt super stiff the first mile, so I slowed down and wound up having a great run.

THU: Run – 4 mi/hills, upper/lower body strength workout – 47:00  – Ran the hilly path at 6:00am with five friends. It was surprisingly pleasant. It almost felt like a two-a-day since we had run less than 12 hours earlier. Felt strong on the hills and kept a good pace (9:16). Finished off with arms, legs, and abs strength workout (Kathy Smith DVD). Bought some compression sleeves and wore them all afternoon.

FRI: Yoga – 20:00 – Running rest day (yeah!). Felt a little sore in different places than usual (thank you, Kathy Smith DVD) so did some easy yoga (forward bends). Not sure if it was because of the compression sleeves, but my lower legs felt great today. No shin splints for the first time since I started training.

SAT: Run – 8 mi – Carrollton – Another hilly Saturday run, but not as warm as last Saturday’s run in Sunnyvale. Kept a reasonable pace (9:22) and felt pretty strong the entire way. A dip in the pool, a mimosa, and a great breakfast with good company were the best part.

SUN : Trail Run -14 mi – Rowlett – BEST trail run ever. I was so apprehensive about going 14 miles on a trail, which is essentially double my longest distance to date, but it was an awesome run. Despite the fact that I fell twice (twice!) I felt tired, but never exhausted. The trail was mostly flat, mostly through trees, with lots of hairpin turns and enough variation to keep it interesting. Four people fell on the run, so it wasn’t just me being my usual klutzy self. I love the feeling of utter and complete satisfaction I get after a long trail run. It was a great way to finish off the week.

STATS for WEEK 4: Run – 34.75 miles, Yoga – 1:40:00, 2 Core/Strength workouts

10 comments

  1. iRuniBreathe

    Awesome! Sounds like things really clicked this week and that feeling of being stronger is taking effect. You ARE stronger, in both body and mind, and that translates to a great feeling. Congrats on some awesome workouts and successes.

  2. John

    A busy week, I’m glad the spreadsheet is green so far! I’m off on my long run this morning and hopefully dodge the heavy showers.

Please leave a comment

