Thursday is My Friday

I love my training plan. It’s a fairly conservative first timer’s 50K plan with three days of running during the week, followed by two back to back longer runs on Saturday and Sunday. After three straight days of running, yoga, and strength training, making it to Thursday feels like a Friday.

Early Tuesday morning is a combo core/track workout. Even though Monday is a much-needed rest day from Sunday’s long trail run, sometimes I’m still fatigued. Getting up in the dark when it’s hot and humid, to go run 5K pace repeats and do burpees and pushups, takes sheer willpower. Knowing I’ll be sweating it out with the group is the only thing that gets me out of bed.

Wednesday’s 7:00pm longish run is always fun because of our large running group, even if it’s guaranteed to have temps in the upper 90’s-low 100’s. Dinner and beer afterwards is a great incentive.

This, however, makes an early morning Thursday hill run even more challenging. With less than 12 hours between runs, it almost feels like a two-a-day.

dumbbells

Getting up early on Thursday mornings to beat the heat is tough, especially when I almost always get to bed late the night before. Sometimes it’s tough to cajole and talk someone into meeting me nine hours later for another run, especially when there are hills involved.

Some Thursday mornings the only thing that gets me up is knowing tomorrow is a rest day. Knowing I can take a nap later in the day makes it easier as well.

Waking up on Friday, I almost always feel restless, like I should be doing something. I tried doing my second strength workout on a Friday, but felt like it didn’t give my legs enough rest for the back to back Saturday and Sunday runs. Something has now turned into yoga, which seems to give my legs enough rest and enough stretching to be beneficial for the long runs.

Getting to Thursday always feels satisfying, just like getting to the end of a work week. It means I’ve made it through the meat and bones of the running week, and the payoff will be good, strong runs on Saturday and Sunday.

8 comments

  1. iRuniBreathe

    Congrats on another week done! It always feels so rewarding to know you have mentally and physically conquered the week, the runs, the workouts and rewarded yourself with a day off. So glad the workouts are going well — a good balance of fatigue and yoga to keep the body happy!

  2. Doug Weaver

    I love the beginning of your post. A plan that you describe as “fairly conservative” that includes 5 runs per week (two of which are long), so that you can run a 50K! Sorry, nothing conservative about that. It is amazing what we can/will do when we fully commit ourselves to doing it. Way to go! Keep it up!

Please leave a comment

