50K Training, Week 20: A Whole Lot of Tapering Going On

I can’t believe I’m at Week 20, the last official week of my training plan. I look at my color-coded spreadsheet (and see much more red than I wanted), but all in all it was a solid plan. Now that Week 20 is here it’s amazing to remember all those stifling hot runs this past summer. I’m hoping they do me well in Saturday’s race.

MON: Run – 4.41 mi, Yoga (20:00) – Despite my best efforts to pimp myself out, no one wanted to run with me this morning. My dog, Nevada, kept me company instead, and it was my first solo run since early summer. I definitely enjoy running with my friends more than running solo. My legs were still a little sore from Saturday’s run (what was it about that run that made me so sore???), but I kept the pace slow and easy and enjoyed the cool morning temps. Did some easy yoga afterwards (twists) to stay loose for the race.

Rock star Hari waving to his adoring fans

TUE: Run – 5 mi, Yoga (40:00) – Our last official run before the race this weekend! Met Hari and Todd for an easy run at the lake at 6am. We started and finished the run in the dark, with the sky just beginning to change colors when we finished. It was cool but humid, and I dragged a little from asthma and allergies. Walked the dogs, then did some very relaxing yoga to wind out the morning. Starting tomorrow, my favorite part of tapering: carbo-loading!

Heather

WED: Rest Day, Yoga (20:00) – Walked the dogs and did some yoga (back bends). Definitely feeling nervous today about the race. I have watched the predicted high temp rise from 73, to 75, 77, 79, 82, and now 85. It’s still nothing approaching what we trained through this summer, so we should be prepared. Even worse, now they’re predicting my old nemesis, strong winds, torturer from marathons #1 and #2. Got my running clothes and gear together and made a list of food to buy tomorrow for the race. Ate lots of carbs.

Susan

THU: Rest Day, Yoga (20:00) – Went to the store and bought dolmas, hummus, pita bread, bagels and shmear, and got all my energy gels and waffles together for the race. Packed and thought through everything that I may need. Checked the weather for the hundredth time, hoping a cold front would blow through (it’s not). At least the wind has been taken out of the forecast. Spent some time visualizing the race and seeing myself running strong on the canyon trails and enjoying myself. Ate even more carbs.

Me

Tomorrow I’ll pick up Michael at 10:00 at work and hit the highway for Canyon, TX! We’ll check in to the motel, pick up our packets and enjoy the prerace pasta dinner with the other runners, and hopefully get to bed early.

My primary goals for my first 50K and first trail race are:  to finish within the cut-off and to enjoy the experience. That’s it. It took me 20 weeks and a hot Texas summer to get here, and I’ll be ready.

Susan, who hurt her knee in the 20K Rugged and Raw trail race (and nabbed 2nd place overall female), but was then afraid she might not be able to run for a few months, has decided to run the 20K. Heather, who started training with us at the beginning of summer, will also be running the 20K. My dear friend, Hari, who has run with me more than anyone else in my life, is more than ready to be a trail running beast.

Time to show everyone what we can do.

11 comments

  1. AndrewGills

    Can’t wait to read the race report. I’m traveling 5 hours today so I can volunteer at an aid station at a 50km race I had to pull out of. I’ll think of you and the hard work you’ve done as I help the runners who stop for water food and encouragement.

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Thanks so much, and good for you for volunteering at the race you have to miss. You’ll be able to run it next year. Have fun volunteering! Time to rest up for tomorrow morning in the canyon!

  2. iRuniBreathe

    I can’t believe you are at week 20 either, and now the weekend is here! You’ve done so much to get here; am so proud of your dedication, determination and strength.
    Regardless of the result, you’re already a winner and have run farther than you ever did.
    Amazing!

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Post coming soon, but the race was a blast! I finished in around 7:33, which is better than I expected for a first 50K. It was 38 degrees at the start, 92-ish at the finish. I couldn’t be happier with the results, and I had the best time ever. More details coming soon!

Please leave a comment

