50 Mile Training, Week 10: A Change of Plans

Plans change. Sometimes we expect it, sometimes we don’t. Sometimes the decision is made for us, and sometimes things happen that cause our original intent to merely fizzle out in a rush of an expired oh well . . .

There’s not much point in writing out a day-by-day recap of the week because I was sick and didn’t run a single day this week. No guilt, no regrets. I didn’t do any yoga either. My head felt like it was parked under a car tire this entire week and running and doing downward dog were the last things I felt like doing.

I did, however, enjoy the holiday week. I got to visit with my son and his girlfriend, pigged out on Christmas dinner, and actually enjoyed taking a short break from running.

I had my first White Christmas EVER here in Dallas. EVER.

White Christmas in Dallas, TX 2012

View from my front porch on Christmas Day

Michael and my son, Nicolas,  finished building the fence in the backyard, and Nicolas also built us our very own fire pit. They also spent two full days fixing a plumbing issue. Not so much fun, especially when your house was built in 1926 and the pipes are made of clay. Even worse when the outside temperature barely gets above the mid 40’s.

So while I may have been down for the count, hyped up on Mucinex and taking it easy on the couch, at least the boys were busy.

Fence and fire pit

Our completed fence and new fire pit

I got a lot of knitting done.

But I digress. The subject, after all, is running. Every day since Friday I thought I might feel well enough for a short run, but the congestion in my head and chest were just too bad. My training partner, Hari, also got sick the same day I did, with exactly the same symptoms, even though he was in another state visiting friends for Christmas. Liz is now sick with the same thing. Susan’s hand is in a cast after breaking a finger in her first 54K and needing surgery.

My friends and I are a little beat up at the moment.

And speaking of Hari, this brings me to the change of plans I mentioned earlier. Poor Hari. Feeling sick in Phoenix, he took a hot epsom salt bath, fainted afterwards from low blood pressure, and snapped a rib in half in his back when he hit the edge of the bathtub. Thankfully, he remembers nothing, but the doctor has told him to lay off running for six weeks.

Our 50 mile race is in five weeks. I have no intention of running it without him — I only signed up because he asked me to — so I’ve decided to withdraw and focus on the Jemez 50K at the end of May. I am perfectly okay with this decision. I hadn’t put in enough really long runs before I got sick, and I’m thinking this may give me a chance to shake off the asthma and coughing that have plagued me for the past three months. There will be plenty of other opportunities in the future to train for and run a 50 mile race, if I so choose. At this point, I’m happy to stick to 50K’s for awhile.

So, after a few more days of rest and a new 50K training plan to come up with, which will include lots of squats, lunges, and stair master, I’m looking forward to 2013 and a whole new year of running and training.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Stats for WEEK 10: Run – 0 miles, Yoga – 0:00

 

18 comments

  1. Marcus

    Let me know when you do pick a replacement 50 mile race – I may ask to join you and Hari……. (Happy New Year!)

  2. iRuniBreathe

    Those are impressive stats, mostly because you allowed yourself to completely take the time off (forced or not) and could retain perspective through it all.
    Poor Hari – I hope you are both feeling better soon. May is still far enough away for a good rest and then good training.
    Happy new year and congrats on your 2012 accomplishments!

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      I’m usually pretty good about taking time off when I need to. Coming back is no fun, but it’s a necessary evil sometimes. I am going to try and run a few miles tomorrow. Hopefully my head won’t explode!
      Happy New Year, Tania! Here’s to many happy miles in 2013!

  3. AndrewGills

    Oh no! Sounds like Hari is in a bad way. And that the cold weather has got to your body too. Giving yourself a chance to recover sounds like a sensible idea. Sometimes we have to do these things.

    That snow looks very pretty.

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Hari is doing better. We had lunch today so he is at least up and walking around again, though he’s not happy about having to take off six weeks from running. The snow was awesome! I wish it had stuck around for longer.

  4. pwhent

    I am sorry you have been unwell Angela, but we’ll done for taking some proper downtime.I am constantly surprised how many people try and push through this and make it worse. Although I have only recently found your blog I have enjoyed reading it in 2012. I wish you a speedy recovery and a happy healthy and fast New Year.

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Thanks so much! I enjoy your blog as well and look forward to reading more this year. Like you, I’m always amazed that so many people don’t take enough time off when they are injured or sick. I guess most of us long distance runners are Type A’s, and are stubborn, but the time off is worth it to me if it means being able to run longer, better, and faster. Happy New Year!

  5. MikeW

    This post will inspire others going through similar things.
    I hope it also illustrates healthy adaptive training for all who read your post, because I think that’s what you’re doing.
    Recovery is part of training.
    All the best for the optimum recovery, and for advances against the sometimes daunting environmental / respiratory factors.

    Prayers accepted from any and all that finishing my book doesn’t kill me in order to make it sell well.
    Happy New Year!!!

  6. kardarc

    You had some great acomplishments in 2012 and you seem very content with what you achieved just as you should be. Great job and Happy New Year! 🙂

  7. Li Li

    Happy New Year to you as well– and I hope that you and your friends all have speedy recoveries!

    PS– it was my first White Christmas as well. Wasn’t it beautiful? 🙂

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Thanks so much, but it was a pretty easy decision. I’d rather wait until I’m really, really excited about running 50 miles before I jump into it. I wasn’t, so it was easy to decide to stick to the 50K distance for a bit longer.

Please leave a comment

