Jemez 50K Training, Week 0: New Year, New Goals, New Training Plan

It was a crazy busy week with lots of celebrations:  New Year’s Eve, a brand new year, MY WEDDING, and a return to running after being sick for nine long days. It felt great to finally be able to run again. I missed an entire week of cold, perfect running weather, which was the worst part of being sick — even worse than blowing my nose every two minutes and feeling like I was breathing through a straw. Even better, I returned to the trails after a two week absence. I came up with a new training plan for my next big race, Jemez Mountain Trail Run 50K just outside of Los Alamos, NM at the end of May, and the training won’t officially begin until next week (hence the Week 0 in the title). I’m also running the Cowtown Half Marathon in Ft Worth in February, so I have two great races to look forward to.

Getting married in our living room, surrounded by close friends and family

MON: REST DAY – New Year’s Eve – I love a brand new year. There’s such a feeling of expectancy and renewal. Now that I’ve decided not to run the 50 mile race, I’m excited to start training for Jemez. There’s plenty of time to build back up to the distance and get in great shape for this challenging race. Even though I’m still congested, I’m looking forward to my first run in nine days tomorrow.

TUE: Easy Run – 4 mi, Yoga 20:00 – A chilly, drizzly 42 degrees for a late morning run with Liz, Todd, and their neighbor, John. I was really looking forward to running again after being sick for so long, and my legs and lungs felt surprisingly good. I have to admit that I enjoyed my brief hiatus from running, but I’m even happier to be up and running again. I even loved the cold, drizzly weather. Did some power yoga for the first time in weeks, and my stuffed up head was not happy at all with downward dog pose. I ignored it and kept going. I also realized how much easier yoga is when my legs aren’t sore and stiff from so much running.

WED: Tempo Run4 mi – Had to drag myself out of bed to run all alone in freezing temps. Boo hoo. Of course, it was nevertheless a great run, and I ran the last two miles at an 8:50 and 8:43 pace, which is pretty good considering I’ve only run 4 miles in the past 10 days. I run so much better in the cold weather — and when my legs are fresh.

THU: WEDDING DAY – What a wonderful day! It was amazing. I am so blessed to marry such a wonderful man, and to be able to spend it with so many great friends. It’s going to be a great 2013.

FRI: Rest Day – Exhausted from the wedding. Slept late, and spent the day on the couch reading, watching TV, nodding off, and eating leftovers. It was a a perfect way to celebrate my first day of being married.

SAT: Run – 8 mi –  Cold morning run with the group. Legs felt great, awesome conversations with my friends, and lots of fun at breakfast. I’m so happy to be running again!

Grapevine1-6-13_2

SUN: Trail Run – Grapevine – 10 mi – A beautiful morning for a run. Met Michael S, Jennifer S, Vicki C, Mary Sarah, and Vijay at Grapevine for a great run. I seriously considered sleeping in and being lazy (hey, it was a very busy  week!), but I hate missing a trail run and I hate not keeping my promises. It was worth it. We kept up a pretty good pace and ran up every single hill, and I was glad to be done at the end of 10 miles. It feels so good to be back out on the trails.

Stats for WEEK 0: Run – 26.2 miles, Yoga – 20:00

 

18 comments

  1. Julie

    Congratulations!! Sorry I won’t see you at RR but very exciting that you are going to get to do Jemez. I’ve heard great things about that race and I look forward to hearing about your training and your race report.
    I’m not going to be able to finish the 50 mile either at Rocky. Lots of health problems going on but I’ll still go with my friend and maybe run a lap or two then crew for her.
    Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. iRuniBreathe

    BEAUTIFUL photo. (The one of you in your dress. I’ve seen runners before…)
    Congrats on the wedding, the new plans, the new year, and fresh legs!
    More trails ahead!

  3. MikeW

    Congratulations on your marriage! May many slow dances follow on the same floor. Glen Miller “In the Mood” is a vote…many years of love, joy and contentment to you both!

Please leave a comment

