Jemez 50K Training, Week 1: Not the First Week of Training I Had in Mind

I had such high hopes for getting back on track this week and was looking forward to my first week of official training for the Jemez 50K. Things didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted, but I was able to get in some great running by the end of the week. Sore muscles from Sunday’s trail run, a migraine, and lots of rain derailed my plans for the first part of the week, but that’s just the way it goes sometimes. I still only ran three days this week, but am determined to get back on a regular workout schedule next week. Winter temperatures are on the menu for the entire week — and I couldn’t be happier about that!

MON: REST DAY – Yoga – 20:00 – OUCH. Woke up this morning to calves that felt as sore as if I had run a hilly marathon. This was very unexpected. I know we kept up a good pace during yesterday’s trail run in Grapevine, and we ran up every single hill, but geez, my legs are really sore. As in, too sore to run tomorrow. Michael says being sick for nine days was like a taper, and a fast, hilly trail run at the end of 16 miles midweek was the equivalent of a race. Therefore, really sore legs. I guess what’s the most surprising is that I rarely have sore calves, so I’m going to claim running up the hills and taking no walk breaks after time off from running as the main culprits. I thought I was listening to my body, but have to admit that my legs did feel very tired by the last few miles of the run. D’oh, rookie mistakes! Did yoga (Standing Poses) to loosen up the legs, but it didn’t really help all that much. Time for the compression sleeves . . .

TUE: Yoga 20:00 – My calves are still so sore that there’s no way I can run today. I am one grumpy woman because of it. I was looking forward to my first official week of training for Jemez, and here I’m having to miss the very first run on the training plan! Not happy at all. Yoga (Twists) helped some, but the cold, rainy day matches my mood. I’ve always taken pride in knowing when to back off and rest when I need to, but I know that these sore muscles are my own fault. I should have started back more conservatively than I did, after being sick for nine days. Grrr.

Rain, Rain and More Rain

Rain, rain, and more rain.

WED: Rainy Rest Day – Still too sore to run. Rained all day again. Decided to take a full rest day and hopefully I’ll be able to run tomorrow. This is not how I wanted to start my first week of training.

THU: Rest Day – Made plans to meet Liz for a run this morning and woke up with a migraine. Feeling very frustrated.

FRI: Run – 6.13 mi, Yoga – 40:00 – Finally able to run today for the first time all week. Liz and I ran on the Katy Trail on a day with spring-like weather. Unbelievably, my calves still felt a little tight when I ran. My conditioning seems fine, and we kept our regular pace and I wasn’t out of breath, but the time off seems to have affected my muscles and tendons more than anything else. Oh well, I just need to have patience in ramping back up to my former mileage. Did forty minutes of yoga later in the day (back bends and forward bends) to try and get back into a regular yoga practice. I think I’ve missed yoga more than I’ve missed running.

SAT: Long Run – 10 mi, Yoga – 20:00 – After yesterday’s high temp of 71 degrees, couldn’t believe when I woke up at 6:00am and it was still 68 degrees! It was supposed to be 58, so I made sure to wear shorts and a short sleeved tech shirt for the run. Not only was it warm, but the streets were wet from fog, and the humidity was 93% when we started running at 7:00am. Now I know where the expression “pea soup” comes from. The short and simple of it: it was a tough run. Nothing makes a run tougher for me than high humidity (except maybe a strong wind), and I think most of us feel that way. Nevertheless, we had tons of new faces show up for our group run, which was awesome to see. After more rain this morning, a major cold front is supposed to roll in later today, and it looks like next week will be perfect for running. With all the rain we’ve had this week, though, it looks like a trail run tomorrow is out of the question. Yoga after the run (hip openers) was just what I needed. As the cold front rolled in, more rain, including hail, graced our thirsty gardens.

Dog in rain

My dog likes running in the rain more than I do.

SUN: Long Run10 mi – Woke up with another headache, horrible asthma, and 30 degree colder temps than yesterday. With a stiff 25 mph wind from the north, the wind chill factor was 23 deg. BRRRRRR. Since we got almost three inches of rain this week, no one felt like slogging through a trail full of mud. Liz and I started from her house and ran a loop around the lake. The entire west side of the lake was head first into the wind. Liz, who struggled in yesterday’s warm humid temps, said she preferred today’s cold wind. She said at least it made her want to keep moving. I didn’t want to complain too much because at least it wasn’t 120 gazillion degrees like in the summer, and I promised I would love every single moment of running this winter, but I didn’t find the cold headwind at all pleasant. Having a throbbing headache didn’t help.

Thank God for hot showers, Extra Strength Excedrin, asthma inhalers, and friends who push me on tough runs.

Stats for WEEK 1: Run – 26.1 miles, Yoga – 1:40:00

 

13 comments

  1. Blanca

    Angela, I know how you feel about humidity, it really kills my energy, I struggled with my 20 miler on Saturday, and Sunday I felt so much better for my 10 miler, those 30 degrees cooler made a big difference! I love following your weekly training 🙂

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      Blanca, I really don’t like running into a strong, cold wind, but you’re right about the humidity. It “kills my energy” as well. I can’t believe you ran 20 miles in those conditions on Saturday! Huge kudos to you!

  2. iRuniBreathe

    It sounds like neither the weather or your body was quite feeling it this week. I can relate (as you know). Very interesting that being off sick was like a long taper — that would make sense. Then going out for a strong run was just like racing. Good comparison and a very good analogy to keep in mind next time I’m forced to take a few days off.
    There are more days to run, the sun will be out soon. 🙂

  3. pwhent

    Sounds like a challenging week Angela. Well done for persevering. I am afraid I can’t extend too much sympathy about the weather as I am training through an English Winter!! We get excited if the temperature creeps above freezing and the rain is not horizontal : )

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      I actually love winter and cold weather, but I know it get’s old, as well. Ironically, the several times I’ve been to England I’ve had glorious weather. I was in London once and it was a perfect blue sky and in the low 50’s. I was freezing, all bundled up, but the Londoners were in shorts, tank tops, and sandals and were having picnics all over Hyde Park. I couldn’t believe it!

  4. Andy Coleman

    Calves – the bain of my existence. Glad yours appears to be just soreness – not a strain. The picture of your dog put a big smile on my face – so much joy! Thanks again for sharing your training progress.- I anxiously await every post!

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature

      The calves are fine again. Now it’s just the coughing that I can’t seem to shake. After four months, it’s really starting to wear me down. Yes, my dog reminds me to find joy in the little things. Thanks for reading, Andy. I’m always amazed that anyone could be remotely interested in my training, especially when it’s not going so well!

Please leave a comment

